ACWS Nápoles, inauguración oficial

© Carlo Borlenghi

© Carlo Borlenghi

© Carlo Borlenghi

© Carlo Borlenghi

Fuente info AC34


What started with a light show and music ended with fireworks illuminating a torrential downpour. The thunder and lightning just adding to the drama of the moment and the impressive setting.

The opening ceremony in Naples was an absolutely spectacular show – at a level not seen before at the America’s Cup World Series.

The ceremony took place at the Piazza del Plebiscito, which had seating for one thousand guests. Several thousand others were packed into the large Piazza, which was standing room only.

Italian President Giorgio Napolitano appeared via video link, offering his congratulations to Naples for hosting the America’s Cup World Series, which he said would strengthen the international profile of Naples and the entire southern region of Italy.

The Mayor of Naples, Luigi de Magistris, said the success of the AC World Series shows the world that Naples can excel in hosting world class events. Importantly, he noted the event is ‘returning the waterfront’ to the people of Naples, with the race village and team bases turning what was four lanes of busy traffic into a pedestrian walkway along the sea front.

And Regatta Director Iain Murray thanked all of the organisational bodies involved in Naples for pulling together such an impressive facility.

The America’s Cup – the oldest and most sought after trophy in international sport – was on stage, illuminated by powerful spotlights.

The show culminated with each full race crew being called on stage, bearing the flag of their challenge, to be saluted by the crowd. Not surprisingly, Luna Rossa was the favourite ahead of their AC World Series debut.

The evening may have ended with thunder and lightning, but no amount of rain could dampen spirits on this night.

Thank you Naples. It’s going to be a great week!

Deja un comentario

Puedes usar las siguientes etiquetas y atributos HTML: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>