Louis Vuitton America’s Cup Qualifiers. La penalización a Artemis que “hubiese” sido verde.


La boya de la penalización y polémica. Los jueces ahora dicen: “Hemos discutido, examinado otras evidencias, información y datos, y creo que si tuviesemos que fallar de nuevo sería bandera verde y no penalizaríamos a Artemis.”
Gran calentura en el hangar sueco …

Fuente info AC35

05/29/2017
ACRM PERSPECTIVE ON ARTEMIS RACING PENALTY DECISION

America’s Cup Race Management (ACRM), the independent organization that oversees the sporting and competitive rules of the America’s Cup, has announced its perspective on the contentious penalty given to Artemis Racing in race 14 of the first Round Robin stage of the Louis Vuitton America’s Cup Qualifiers.

As has been seen in the first three days of racing in the 35th America’s Cup, the competition has been closer than ever. The outcome of each race is unpredictable and races are being won and lost by extremely fine margins. This means that the pressure on the umpires to make the correct calls is greater than ever before.

As in all sports, umpires are not infallible and on this occasion, even with the best sailing umpires in the world that are overseeing the 35th America’s Cup, they have admitted that their decision, on reflection, may have been different.

In an interview which can be seen HERE Richard Slater, ACRM’s Chief Umpire said, “When they were coming down to the final gate mark, with the information we had at the time, we had Artemis Racing on port, as the keep clear boat, and Emirates Team New Zealand on starboard, and our job is to be certain that Artemis Racing were keeping clear, and we weren’t at that time certain they were keeping clear.

“We have had a discussion, we have looked at other evidence, information and data, and I think if we were to go back in time and make that call, we would green that call and not penalize Artemis.”

Asked if that decision could be changed, Slater answered, “No, it is a field of play decision and the decision of the umpire stands.”

The results of race 14 of Round Robin 1 in the Louis Vuitton America’s Cup Qualifiers stand.

3 pensamientos en “Louis Vuitton America’s Cup Qualifiers. La penalización a Artemis que “hubiese” sido verde.

  1. Realmente me parece increible q pase esto en la copa america… con jurys en tierra y en el agua. Aca cuando hay duda ponen bandera verde… ahora a ganar el RR2

  2. Es que no puede haber umpires que evaluen situaciones a velocidades que nunca ellos navegaron. Obviamante definiciones como “mantenese separado” o “en forma marinera” son en este caso experiencias que no tienen y deben evaluar.
    Lo meritorio es el reconocimento de el error y una gran cosa para el barco penalizado que se reinvidique su accion.

Deja un comentario

Puedes usar las siguientes etiquetas y atributos HTML: <a href="" title=""> <abbr title=""> <acronym title=""> <b> <blockquote cite=""> <cite> <code> <del datetime=""> <em> <i> <q cite=""> <strike> <strong>